Life Cycle Stages

Various national or international lifecycle phases models can be selected in the UCM service. The models available in UCM are listed below. 

Recommendation for your choice of Life Cycle Stage

  • The description of a use case should be as generic as possible. 
  • If too many stages and sub-stages are selected, the complexity of the description increases massively. 
  • It is recommended to clearly delimit the start- and end-point of a use case to keep the description short and precise

Reference life cycle stages according ISO 29481 

The ISO 29481-1 defines the reference life cycle stages which should be used for the exchange requirements. The standard distinguishes between standard life cycle stages and local life cycle stages. For an unambiguous classification of the exchange requirements, it is necessary to reference the local life cycle stages to the standard life cycle stages. 

Standard life cycle stages 

Exchange requirements are identified as being relevant to particular stages in a project. For consistency, life cycle stages should always be defined on a common basis. The primary reference used for identifying life cycle stages is ISO 22263. The principal stage identification are further decomposed to provide a meaningful set of stages for the development of process maps and exchange requirements. 



0. Portfolio requirements 


1. Conception of need 

2. Outline feasibility 

3. Substantive feasibility 


4. Outline conceptual design 

5. Full conceptual design 

6. Coordinated design (and procurement) 


7. Production Information 

8. Construction 


9. Operation and maintenance 


10. Disposal

Local life cycle stages 

Life cycle stages are usually defined according to local process protocols. That is, the identification of life cycle stages in one place will differ from the identification of life cycle stages in another place. 

The life cycle stages within a standard exchange requirement can be customized to reflect local practice in a localized exchange requirement. That is, the standard table can be replaced by a locally defined table. The exchange requirements can be defined according to this local protocol. 

Where local protocols are used, the mapping between the stages in the local protocol and those within this part of ISO 29481 should be maintained. Either 

  • a single standard stage is decomposed into multiple stages in the local protocol, or 
  • multiple standard stages are composed into a single stage in the local protocol. 


Source: ISO 29481-1:2016: Building information models – Information delivery manual – Part 1: Methodology and format 


Life Cycle Stages

ISO 22263


ISO 12006-2


Generic Stages


OmniClass Table 31


SIA 112






RIBA - plan of work

United Kingdom